Was finally able to watch Atonement last Thursday. Everyone kept telling me to just watch it on DVD, but I wanted to wait until they showed it in the cinemas here. OMG I’m in love with that movie. It was beautifully done, no excesses, no special effects…just a beautiful story with great actors. It’s a sad story, but that doesn’t take away from its beauty at all. Anyone who knows me know about my Keira Knightley obsession so you know I was looking forward to this movie because of her. Of course she delivered, she never fails in my eyes. But apart from her, wow! James McAvoy was brilliant in this film. I’ve only ever seen him in Narnia before (will see Last King of Scotland soon-ish) so I didn’t really know if he had great acting chops or not. After seeing this movie, there’s no question about it. The boy can cry…and make me cry. Haha! This is definitely a must-see.

Because I’m feeling lazy (on this incredibly humid Saturday afternoon), I will just go through the other movies quickly.

Dan in Real Life – it was funny and cute. Made me cry a couple of times. I will always adore Steve Carell (yes, I’m an Office addict as well). Wish Dane Cook had more scenes though, he wasn’t able to do much.

The Flock – OMG don’t even THINK about it.

10,000 BC – It was bleah for me. Actors were pretty though. Camilla Belle has a gorgeous face even with dirt and weird blue eyes. The story was good, it was the execution that fell short.

So to sum it all up, Atonement kicks all those other movies’ butts. I still want to watch No Country for Old Men, which I haven’t even seen the trailer of.